Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – George Sokol, Environment Artist

Hey all,

Just finished reworking my portfolio. I will be on the job hunt in the near future, and would like to get this in the best shape possible.

All critiques and comments would be appreciated.

www.georgesokol.com

Thanks!

Replies

• porkovich
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey George

I think your off to a pretty good start with your work. I like the city scene and the design of the buildings. Some of the brick textures do have a obvious repeating pattern when viewed from afar. Maybe try more grunge overlays, decals to break it up and add more contrast.

I'm no professional as of yet, by any means, but I can see positive potential in your work.

As for the website, I think it's easy to navigate. The text on the header could be more clear and sized up. Kinda hard to read. Maybe try a different font.

Out of curiosity, who was the art test for? I'm hoping to get the opportunity to do some of those pretty soon here.

Good luck
  • fearian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fearian greentooth
    Looks good. In terms of site design, I don't think you need to have a black outline around everything, White text on dark grey looks fine.

Good luck with the job hunt!
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks guys.

porkovich: Thanks man. The city scene does need quite a bit of work. I'm considering dropping this out of my portfolio and replacing it with my next scene though. I feel like it was too ambitious...and its too empty.

The art test was for High Voltage in Chicago.

Fearian: Yes black outlines around EVERYTHING!!! haha. Are you referring to the drop shadows on everything? After looking again I guess it might be overkill.

Anybody else got any critiques? I'm particularly interested in knowing if I should drop any projects out of here, which ones are the best/worst. Anything really...I really want to get this in great shape.

Thanks again!