Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Lighting project (Film Noir/fantasy Thriller)

Hi guys

I was wondering if people could help me. I'm in my last year of university and for my final year project I am doing a lighting project by recreating chosen lighting styles without the use of post process.

I'm using 3DsMax as that is the program I am most comfortable using. I already have some progress renders and renders I hope are good enough to use I would just like peoples opinions on how to improve the lighting based off the styles.

The first style that I am working on is Film noir. Sin City is the main inspiration behind it, I have been checking on other forums at other peoples work and have found some images that I wish to aim for. (I'll find them and post them up with the correct references)

noir.jpg

render2.jpg
render3.jpg
render4.jpg

Replies

• Fenix007
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The Following renders have render effects on them to help create the Nior feel that I am after. Any comments that can help improve the renders would be appreciated.

1. without effects
    withouteffects.jpg

3.With fog
    withfog.jpg

5.With blackened fog
    blackfog.jpg
  • Kiser Designs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kiser Designs polycounter lvl 12
    You need high contrast and reflections. You have high contrast but its not balanced.... seems to dark. Find a way to increase the reflection of the light. Also lower the film grain... i think it may appear more grainey than it is in udk in renders
  • Fenix007
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here are a few more renders that I have done, hopefully they are getting better as I update. Again anything you notice that they need for improvement please let me know.

Renderwithman.jpg

noglowcaravan.jpg

OmniinsteadofDL.jpg
  • Fenix007
  • feanix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    feanix polycounter lvl 7