Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Male character - meet 'Verrus'

I've been working on Verrus for a while. I'm largely self-taught, and half of this is practice, so I started by modeling him almost nude with the intention of sculpting clothes using the anatomy as a guide.

Life drawing classes, why didst thou only have female models?

Anyway, I'm meaning to eventually rig him up. My goal is less than 5000 polys or so, with an ideal goal of 4k. I picked those numbers out of the air, incidentally. As said, self taught. Any critique on this guy is welcome.

The reference drawing (again, overdone as an anatomy study):
Verrus_FullBody.jpg

Modeled him in 3ds Max up to 4500 polys, mapped him, then imported him into Mudbox. After some further sculpting and refining there, this is what I came up with:
768x450.jpg

Well, eventually. Those thighs and calves got tuned down later.

Materials, clothes... here's my current WIP screenshot. He's down to about 3k polys here. I'm putting in more detail still, especially around the pants.
Verrus3d_WIP.jpg

As said, critique is welcome on this one. *Fetches security blanket.* I'd really like to do him justice.

Replies

• Phil101
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think you have made some good progress on mudbox, I might not be the best to advise in that area as I am more of a zBrush kind of guy but I think all that sculpt needs is a good tightening of the skin especially around the rear and shoulders. I am currently doing a similar project with a strong male character atm and one of the things I am adding are things such as arm veins which are common on such a build.

What I think is excellent is you seem to have put a lot of good consideration into what kind of strong build this character will have as of course there is a myriad of different strong builds where a person may have more cardio giving them a slimmer upper body or a weight lifter who would have a large upper torso.