Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Panthereye - New Artist WIP

Hi guys,

I'm new at this, and I've been working at University on my third ever Zbrush piece (Will go into UDK Ultimately, unrigged) but I'm at the sculpting stage at the moment.

The creature is based around those from the original Half Life 'Opposing Forces' mod (the idea of the uni module was to go out and find a mod team, then create one of the pieces for that game).

So far I've just been working on feedback from my lecturer, but now I'd like some overall feedback from you guys!

It's important to note that this is the "Pre-alpha" stage (I didn't want to start applying skin alphas till the proportions of everything are right).

poly.png

The original concept is below, although I've changed a number of things from it as I lost contact with the Mod leader, and so took it my own direction:

beast3.png

So what are peoples thoughts? What could be changed? I'd like to start Alpha'ing by Saturday, so all C & C is welcome!

Replies

• Rezghenth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bumping thread because I've only just been validated to post!
    Done some updates since yesterday.

Came to carve the shape of the head, and wanted some real-world references, so I've done a couple and thought i would ask you guys to crit it for me! Bear in mind that I haven't alpha'd anything yet ( except for the beetle head to get a feel for it) and with alphas, the shar pei head could look quite interesting!

beetlehead.png
    headfat.png

Which do you think looks better?
    The first is influenced by this beetle head:
    DK4KOKGKUKGK30GQ9KEQA08QPKGQT08QO01QT0QK6K4Q30UQDK7K304QO08QO04QUKGQ30GKTKBQ.jpg

Whilst the second is influenced by Shar Pei puppys:
    cute-wrinkled-shar-pei-puppy.jpg

Still after feedback for the rest of the creature too, so see above post as well if people don't mind!
  • greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6