Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Steven Verbeek - 1 Month Hand Painting Daily

Hello All,

My name is Steven Verbeek and I am trying to learn how to properly hand paint textures as seen in games like BLC, WoW, TorchLight, etc. I will be painting one texture a day for a complete month (30 days, may not be consecutive) in my attempt to learn how to do this properly.

I will post approx. time of completion, colour swatches, style (there are several different styles), and type of texture painted.

I ask anyone who is reading this thread to be hard on me, I am new to this and I will not get better from people being nice. I want to get better so I ask you kindly be helpful and critic, please provide details about why you dislike this or that.

PS. First day will follow this post.

Thanks!

Steve V.

Replies

• sverbeek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Day 1
    pt2Na.jpg

My first attempt I decided to follow the style by JFletcher, (using the smudge tool and overlays). I actually rather enjoyed this, I found it difficult to properly do the cracks though.

I think the splits are a bit dark, I tried to lighten them by applying more color to it then smudging and that turned out really wrong, so something to keep in mind for the future.

Thoughts?
  • sverbeek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Day 1
    OxLkt.jpg

I attempted to create a single part of a stone texture using reference from http://dns-art.com/ (church).

I am not sure exactly how he managed to do that, they appear as if they have a sort of drop shadow

I also played around with a lighting tutorial http://www.itchstudios.com/psg/art_tut.htm#light_stuff (specifically the lighting part) a bit today.

PS. I am trying to get down to roughly 20-30 minutes for a single object before I do more then one, currently I spend roughly an hour to hour and a half on a single object.

As always, comments welcome!
  • bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod