Home Technical Talk

Deformation from Max Cloth to Unity3D?

wannabeartist
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
wannabeartist polycounter lvl 8
Hi guys,

I'm looking for a way to get mesh deformation driven by cloth simulation in Max to Unity3D - has anyone tried this?

I'm guessing the animation has to be baked-in somehow first?

Thanks!

Replies

• leslievdb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leslievdb polycounter lvl 15
    i think you can use the point cache modifier for this. Not sure what formats export the vertex animation in a good way for unity though
    i think fbx does but i'm not sure
  • wannabeartist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the tip!

Yes, FBX is what is used generally to get models and animation into Unity, but I have no earlier experience in getting Cloth-driven stuff out - I will look into Point Cache!
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Discussion about point cache, its expensive at times.
    http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?p=880762

Discussion about converting a cloth sim to bones, much lighter and results are scalable, tweakable and loopable. Know that you can loop point cache data using morph targets.
    http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66993

Also other engines like UDK do realtime cloth simulations.
  • wannabeartist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks,

In the meanwhile I learned that Unity does not support vertex animation, so I guess that excludes point cache. The bones conversion sounds promising! Looking into that next!

EDIT: Unity has Cloth simulation now, but I'm afraid it might be too expensive for character clothes (it's not really the main focus anyway)
  • commander_keen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    commander_keen polycounter lvl 18
    The cloth simulation should be at least as fast as having bones per vertex. Plus it should get disabled on low end cards that dont support it.
  • wannabeartist