Home Technical Talk

MAYA DEFORMERS NOT ANIMATING!

Hey Folks! I am new to the site so please bear with me :P. OK I am a digital art student in her second year and just getting aquainted with Maya. (I am kinda used to 3DSmax) but I seem to have a good feel for the programme already and really enjoying working with the Old Girl :) Although I have an issue and my lecturer (whos practically a Maya guru) doesnt know what I am doing wrong here and it is getting irritating LOL! I am thinking that maybe I am just missing out a step or doing something reallllly obvious cos I am thinking too hard about it.

So basically, I am attempting to SIMPLY SQUASH A CUBE as an animation using Non Linear Deformers. It should be simple enough right? The steps that I am taking are As Follows:

1. I create a cube, a simple cube usually divisions 10,10,10.

2. I set a keyframe at 1 on the timeline. as the cube. without any modifications

3. I select the cube and I go to deformers, select non-linear, and chose squash.

4. I then parent the two together, (I make the deformer the parent)

5. I go to the handle option and edit. I.E I squash it to the point that I want it

6 (I should say that before any editing takes place that I am selected a point in the keyframe I want this to happen) I then set this on the time line.

7. I play it back, and the squash has not animated. The first keyframe I set is not a cube bt squashed like the second keyframe.

8. I attempt to try the other deformers but they are all acting the same way. I try parenting the cube but its not working either, I tryed combining but it still does not work)

I know that I am probably doing something REALLY obviously stupid. Any help I could get would be sooooo appreciated. I understand everyone will be busy and working on their own projects but I hope you can help me out I would be sooo grateful :):) I followed youtube tutorials to a T and it still wont work :(