Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modelling for CG Films?

martynball
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
martynball polycounter lvl 10
I have never done this before and i'm confused to as how you make a high detailed object and still being able to unwrap it for texturing. As wouldn't you use sub'd modelling?

Anyone have wireframes of models for films?

Replies

• System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin
    Bump maps and displacement are used alot. The object will still be high poly compared to game engine stuff but not as high poly as you were thinking.

Check out Dr. Manhatten http://www.fxguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/09Mar/watchmen/wireframe_hd_vd8-1138.jpg

It's basically a really smooth game model with mostly unique textures at high resolution.
  • martynball
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    403 Forbidden

You have no access to the requested URL
  • System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin
    Strange, I'm clicking it right now and can view with no problems in Firefox.

here is the full url "www.fxguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/09Mar/watchmen/wireframe_hd_vd8-1138.jpg"
  • BradleyWascher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradleyWascher polycounter lvl 13
    Yeah I got the error also, but if you copy and paste the link into the browser seemed to work just fine. Interesting the amount of detail... figured it might be a bit more smooth but Ive never really looked into cg modeling and texturing. Cool Example by the way GCMP
  • System
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin
    Yeh, your right I just cleared my cache and it's access denied. Go to google images and search "Dr. Manhatten Wireframe" it's the first image and you CAN view it.

Bradley hehe yes Watchmen is an awesome film :)
  • [SF]Three9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message