Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Learning About Character Modeling

Hi, my name is Krissy. I'm new to Polycount and this is my first thread. I have have been modeling for about a year. I hope to grow as an artist and learn more about the techniques that are used to create characters along with other objects. Please send me feedback! I would love to hear what I can improve on. Thank you all very much!

So I am making a character right now. She is a train robber from western America. I am looking to improve my character's shape and poly flow more than anything else. This is the fourth time I ever made a character so I am still new to modeling humans. Please send me your feedback!

Model sheet

189135_187702547931746_100000760060722_394169_4245212_n.jpg

I also started modeling her. I will post some images once I am at a decent point.

Replies

• KrissyB
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here are my first attempts to modeling her. I started in Zbrush and retopologized it to 3DS Max. This is what I have to far. Please leave me comments. Any would be greatly appreciated.

199093_187702554598412_100000760060722_394170_3812535_n.jpg

184655_187702567931744_100000760060722_394171_7553706_n.jpg

196389_187702594598408_100000760060722_394172_8100536_n.jpg
  • praetus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus interpolator
    Alright, I'll bite. As far as the model goes there are too many edge loops thrown into this thing. Because you're starting out, you're getting lost in the amount of details you have and not getting the basic silhouette down.

This mesh seems like something you could have made in 3DS without touching zbrush as well. Think of trying this out. Try and see what you can get get by only having 6 polygons going around the arms and legs. Maybe eight for the torso, four for the neck. Try and get a good shape out of using a small amount. You'll learn to achieve basic topology and shapes without getting lost.
  • MrChad
    Options