Home General Discussion

Animation Mentor, anyone done it / currently doing it / going to do it?

Hey all!

So I've spoken to a couple of PC members over PM about this and got some great feedback, but just wanted to put it out there to get some more thoughts/opinions.

I've just applied to Animation Mentor. Something I've been considering for some time, and I figured I'm at a point in my life where it's possible, and probably sensible to do it now rather than later. I know there's the age old debate about 'teach yourself' etc etc, but that's what I have done. Up until this point I've been completely self taught, and I really think some face to face interaction with a scheduled workload might help me take things up a notch. I also like the idea of potentially being able to consider different career opportunities later on in film/tv/games rather than just games.

Despite the criticisms of Universities etc, I've actually seen some great success stories of people I know who've been through a couple Uni programmes and if I wasn't in full time employment and renting a house, I'd probably go back and study full time. It's just not feasible, and Animation Mentor seems like a good alternative. I also did my degree on a distance learning course so I'm used to working on assignments in my own time.

So anyone got any first hand experience with it? Planning to do it? If I get accepted then I'll be starting in June. Really excited.

One thing I'm keen to find out is if there's much I should be doing in preparation. I've been using Maya for years so that technicality isn't an issue. I've read all the usual suspects 'Drawn to Life/Illusion of Life' and I just picked up The Animators Survival Kit which is very awesome.

Replies

• Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    http://www.ianimate.net/