Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Forgotten Temple

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Endfinity Jon polycounter lvl 8
Hello everyone, My name's Jon. It's my first time posting here and hopefully I'm welcomed with a loving embrace paired with a light sprinkling of rainbows and sparkles. Now that that's out of the way...

I've wanted to take on my first post-grad project so I found a concept by Adam Baines @CGHub:

http://cghub.com/images/view/36070/

I decided not replicate the scene entirely because there were a few unknowns, and I wanted to have a little creative freedom in some of my choices. Regardless, I still glance at the image to make sure my composition is meeting the direction of the concept.

I'm going to skip my sculpting, modeling, and process pictures (though I have a bunch if anyone cares) and cut right to my most recent UDK grabs. This will be our starting point, though I've been working on the piece for about a month.

Here's the grabs:

UDKRender2.png

UDKRender1.png

UDKRender3.png

And now a delightfully bulleted list for your viewing pleasure:

-The Skybox is a UDK placeholder
-The Water pit is a UDK placeholder
-The bamboo is a Maya Paint Effects placeholder

-I still need to texture/normal map a good handful of pieces.

My main concerns/inquiries:

-I really want DRAMA in my lighting. Right now it's heading in the right direction but not quite there. I'd really like to see a bit more contrast; brighter hotspots and darker shadows. It's a tight space and GI is making it tough for me. I've spent a lot of time tweaking bounce and intensity settings. Maybe someone can suggest a new scheme/set-up, or give me some ideas for tweaking.

-I plan on making the water green and mossy like the concept. Complete with lilly pads.