Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

AANG (Avatar) Character Model

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Fink polycounter lvl 8
Hi guys I am an aspiring character artist. I just wanted to post some of my WIP on my take on Aang. I wanted him to have realistic anatomy so let me know if you guys see anything that looks weird or could change. my cloth sculpting skills are still average so tear into it. :P

aang.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Replies

• LateWhiteRabbit
    The face needs a lot of work. The lips are too thin, the eyes don't look recessed enough (though it is hard to tell from this angle), ears need to come out and face forward more for a better likeness, jaw is too sharp, you are missing some folds and tissue around the eyes, and the ears are too thin from behind.

There is also something wonky happening with the back of the thumbs, and the palms appear too thick.

The feet look like they are a little short as well.

Trapezoid muscles are too big for a ten year old (11?) boy. Watch the muscle definition over-all. Young boys are wiry with visible muscles, but those muscles are all small. Also for Aang's age, he should be seven heads high (ideal proportion wise). The five and half heads you have now are closer to a what a 6-7 year old would be. See Andrew Loomis's guide to proportions of different age groups here.

As far as the cloth, I think the folds need to be sharper and deeper on the part crossing the chest and shoulder, and the folds don't look like they are collapsing properly on the front of the knees.

Looking forward to seeing where this character goes. I am a huge fan of the show. Good luck!
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MainManiac polycounter lvl 11
    The head needs some work, right now you have a team fortress heavy head going on.

Looks like you're going in a good direction though
  • Fink
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fink polycounter lvl 8