Home General Discussion

Art test and no response, normal?

I'm an experienced 3D artist who have worked in game, design, and advertising industries. Recently I've applied for a junior position in a certain game company. They requested an art test shortly after I sent my CV. So I finished the test and submitted it within the time frame they gave. I didn't hear anything from them again after that. I tried to email them to confirm that they did receive my test and there was still no response.
In my past experiences, companies who received art tests would always give some sort of feedback. Or at least they would confirm that they received my test upon my request. This one just left me hanging dry and wondering: Is my skill not good enough for a junior position whose job description was way below my qualification? Is this art test a scam that tries to get free models? Did something go wrong in my test submission? Should I get to the bottom of this or should I drop it and move on? I need your suggestions. Thanks!

Replies

• Kwramm
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    it's pretty shoddy if they really do not give you feedback after specifically asking you to do something for them. But maybe they just forgot?

In most companies HR is VERY busy and if there's crunch and what not then they may just have forgotten about it. I would just politely ask if they had time yet to look at your test and when you can expect to hear about the outcome. Good luck!
  • Ghostscape
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    how long has it been since you submitted the model? If it's been over a day it probably wouldn't hurt to send them an e-mail asking to confirm that they received all the materials you submitted.
  • EarthQuake
    Over a day? I would wait a week or two before hassling anybody.
  • ScoobyDoofus
    Offline / Send Message
    ScoobyDoofus polycounter lvl 19