Home Technical Talk

Simple AO tip for skin

Alright so I've seen people complain about using AO multiplied onto their skin materials for characters, and I've seen some people mention doing something else, like the multiply blend mode is the problem. In reality you simply need to do some quick edits to have usable AO for skin.

This is a really super quick method, using the Gradient Map function in photoshop.

Just add a gradient map, clipped to your AO layer, and whip up a nice little skin shading type ramp. Then mask off the areas of your texture that are not skin, in this case, the eyes. This is a really quick and non-destructive method, so you can easily experiment with different values.

This method could be used to quickly alter the values of AO for other materials too, so play around with it.

skinao_tut.jpg

I'm not really a character artist or anything, just sick of seeing people talk about AO like its "bad" for characters. =)

We just need to apply some basic art theory here to the AO, just as you wouldn't shade/paint shadows with black for skin in tradition art, you wouldn't multiply straight black on your texture.

Replies

• Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    I use a very similar technique for every texture model I make. In general, I make the AO a darker shade of the base color and multiply it on top with adjustments to opacity. Here's a rough example to show how it works:

5480575471_6ca39d25c0_o.jpg
  • Ihazard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    it's a good point, otherwise I end up making the base colour really saturated/dark to try and make the skin not look too zombified :(
  • Brendan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brendan polycounter lvl 8
    What I usually do is duplicate the AO layer a few times, then starting from the top level colour it (CTRL+U, colorize option) the AO layers orange, pink and brown. Then set them to multiply, 30% opacity.