Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

All along the watchtower

Hi Guys,

I was playing around with a couple new methods of quick UV mapping WITHOUT using the automatic unwrap tool and ended up making a watch tower. I'm displaying this in Unity, which I am fairly new to but am finding very easy to work with.

Any suggestions on what I could do to improve this are welcome.:)

WatchTower1.jpg
WatchTower2.jpg

Replies

• letronrael
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i thnik if you delete your environnement around it, maybe it will look even better...
  • burtonyang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The support on your tower looks really flimsy..I could probably kick the connection of the pillars and it would probably break.
  • gateian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback. I think you are right letronrael, that the background could probably be removed. I think I should do some slightly better angles of this too. All a result of bleary eyed late night render shots :)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I like it, it looks good.

Crits:
    The floor boards are all a little too straight, maybe rough up the silhouette a bit, it would add a few polys but could help show some age or non-laser guided craftsmanship of he industrial age, heh.

Any chance we can see the UV layout, the texture flats and a wireframe overlay shot? Can't really comment on the construction without those.

Try taking a few screen shots from the ground level, it will put less importance on the background and the object's silhouette will contrast better with the sky, it will put us more at the players level and less of a "god eye" view, plus gives your models a little more stature.
    It might help to think of it this way, "we look up to the things we admire and we look down on the things we don't". There are other artistic technical reasons but I won't write a paper on it, that can be a good rule of thumb.