Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP-Hand Painted Stone Ground -first time

This is my first attempt at hand painting a texture, this will be titable, I want similar look like wow , I have read the forums and looked at some of the tutorials, but I am just making sure I am heading the right direction. Only two in middle have been done.

Any crits would be appreciated . I am using GIMP as a painting program.

Hand-Painted-001.jpg

and here is the update as of 2/16/11:

stone-003-b.jpg
done by tutorial on polycount tutorial section..

(sorry for the double post below)

Replies

• voc007
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is my more detailed , left stone has some chipped like design on white and the right one has more cracks...still doesn't look right..thank you...

Hand-Painted-002.jpg
  • Mike Yevin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mike Yevin polycounter lvl 11
    i didnt want to leave this with no comments, so i figured id say a few things:

first off, it looks like you spent a total of 10 minutes on this "piece". i understand its a work in progress but maybe do some more progress before posting anything up. this is especially true because the time from your first post till your second was a little over half and hour it looks like. in that time you added a total of, lets say, ten lines. do more work between your updates

also, do you have any reference at all that your using for this? a screenshot from WOW? another piece of artwork? i would STRONGLY recommend that you have a file with at least half a dozen different pictures to use as reference that you can have handy while painting. if you are already using reference, then post it up

i can almost guarantee that no one, or only a few people, are going to bother commenting on this, so i suggest you take some time (lets say 3-4 HOURS) and read some more tutorials, gather reference, and practice for a while before coming back to this.