Home Technical Talk

Low Poly Mountains - correct thread hopefully

I've spent a few months looking at the awesome and inspiring work on polycount and now decided to join in on some of the crazy conversations ;)

I'm fairly new to 3d (name gives that away) i was wondering if anyone can help me with the below.

I've seen a fair few low poly rock tutorial, which helps for cliffs etc. but i cant get these tuts to work for mountains. I'm wanting the bottom of the mid bit of the mountain playable, do you can fall off the edge.

my problem is i end up with a way to highpoly version or something thats way to low and looks crap. I'm not the best at texturing so guess that dont help.

Hope someone can help or point me in the right direction. Keep up the great work guys :)

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    One idea... get a copy of Crysis and load up a level in their editor to take a look at how they do their mountains.

Often games use a heightmap on an evenly-subdivided model, like 2 quads per meter or so. After sculpting the heightmap, the env artist uses multitexture to blend between multiple tiled textures. See http://wiki.polycount.com/Multitexture

You can also crash a bunch of individual rock/cliff meshes into it, for more localized detail. See http://wiki.polycount.com/EnvironmentSculpting#Rock_and_Stone

I'm doing a lot of this right now, and it looks pretty good. Can't show anything from work though, sorry. :(

Also take a look at Red Dead Redemption for some ideas, great terrain in there. For example...
    image_red_dead_redemption-12002-1780_0003.jpg
  • Autocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Autocon polycounter lvl 15
    I am also doing a ton of this at work right now, obviously cant show it either. But we utilize both methods of instanced assets mashed together and large more unique terrain pieces.