Home General Discussion

I Need Advice for Creating a 3d Avatar Editor in an iPhone Game

Hello,
I am currently prototyping an idea for an iPhone game. I'd like to create an avatar editor inside the game so that the player can create a 3d avatar face and modify certain features (using slider controls), such as nose shape, eye color, mouth size, etc. This has been done in several games, but what I'm looking to do would be fairly cartoon-ish/caricature-ish, similar to the Mii editor on the Nintendo Wii (http://www.myavatareditor.com/). I'd also like the final result to have the ability to use some canned animations, such as simple speech animations, smiling, frowning, etc.

I am not an artist, so I would be unable to create these assets, but what kind of effort is required for an artist to create the 3d models necessary for this type of game? Also what mechanism would be required to tweak the face's characteristics? Would you use bones or morph targets? How would the final result be animated? Would facial animation use bones or morph targets?

I've seen several tools that do this sort of thing too, such as FacialStudio. Are there any facial generation tools out there you'd recommend for generating some base content for this game, or should I just hire an artist to do this type of work.

Thanks!

Replies

• notman
    Offline / Send Message
    notman polycounter lvl 18
    Hawken already has an iApp that is very similar to what you're looking for. I don't believe his is 3D though.
  • cman2k
    Offline / Send Message
    cman2k polycounter lvl 17
    Here is hawken's awesome 2D app -> http://www.facemakr.com/

In response to the effort required, it can be pretty considerable. I guess it depends pretty drastically on the style and variety you are aiming for. I highly doubt any pre-canned tool or software is going to replace an artist helping you with this...just not gonna happen.