Home› 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Nemlet's WIP's

So this thread is dedicated to all my work in progress pieces.

First up is a subway "module piece" that I'm creating. I'm just getting into low-poly art, baking, engines etc. I'm use to high poly stuff so I've been trying to make the transition. I want to practice if I ever get restrictions to how many poly's something needs to be. Down below you will find the subway photos. I might abandoned this project for I started off doing a high poly then switched to normal maps, and it's a really big mess in my opinion but I'll try to still work with it. C&C

sub_floor_8.jpg
Tile.jpg
Cigarette_not_complete_final.jpg
cigarette_map_finaljpg.jpg
Pillar_normal_wip.png

Zack Dembinski

Replies

• LateWhiteRabbit
    Is this for a game or just a scene you want to render out?

I ask because that cigarette texture is too big and detailed for a game cigarette. I am also curious as to why you aren't using all of your UV space on the pillar normal map at the bottom of your post.

I also find it kind of funny that this is the second subway WIP I have seen on the first page today, and both of you chose to start off by showing us the same style pillar.
  • Nemlet17
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LateWhiteRabbit:

I'm going for a render but eventually want put it into UE3.

Was going to lower the texture quality when the time comes. I'm horrible at managing my UV spaces cleanly. I feel like that kid on the first day of school who wasn't prepared.

Yeah, I was contemplating about putting it up. I saw that post and figured I'd post too instead of letting the files sit on my hard drive awaiting a critique.

Zack Dembinski
  • Nemlet17
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So I've decided to not continue on the subway scene for now. I've made to much of a mess to salvage it for UDK.