Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(Portfolio) Andrew Boyles - Environment Artist

Hey guys. Starting on some portfolio work and need some C & C for it. I'm always looking to improve as I'm fairly new to 3d. I'm wanting to ultimately become an environment artist for the gaming industry. First off I started making an antique lantern the other day. I'm basing the hi-poly on this reference. The reference doesn't show the handle, but I just looked at other lantern references to fill in the blank. Let me know what you think.

antique-lantern-stephen-anderson.jpg

5392053463_5573c7b7a6_b.jpg

Replies

• LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    So... where is the portfolio?
  • hulkspidy51
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I haven't made really presentable portfolio pieces so I started this thread to get input on what I could improve on while I'm working on them. I should have done this a long time ago, though.
  • raul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    raul polycounter lvl 11
    Hey andrew! Welcome to polycount! I think its starting to look like something. So keep up the good work! My only 2 crits is that your shader that you are rendering with is too flat, and toomuch ao. It needs more specular. See about combining 2 specs through a mixer and then adjusting each spec power of each node to where u have one that is very sharp and fine. And nother one that is broad and wide.

My other crit is that ur missing the little holes in the bottom. Those could be done using floating geometry.
  • hulkspidy51
    Options
    Offline / Send Message