Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Outdoor/Forest Environment

Hey guys,

A little bit about the project; so far this is all off of my own back- learning UDK to a standard, creating my first attempt at foliage, etc and I'm aiming to create a gaming "experience" for players- I've managed to port Dungeon Defence character AI to the UDK September 2010 build and get everything working in this 3rd person world, and I'm aiming to create my own custom HUD, menu system etc so that by the end of it I have this final full package that is pretty much completely my own work and a full experience for the player. I'd also really like it to look as good as possible...

This is my first attempt at really creating an outdoor forest environment with trees and foliage so I'm looking for feedback and advice really on how to improve.

So far I've made a video of where I'm at;

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0gLEAWptAc[/ame]

and it looks like this;

Starting Area;
5383891775_2cdda21eb1_b.jpg

Water Area;
5384493766_f9310aa0a0_b.jpg

So far- this isn't the final layout at all, the main play area is currently flat with a lot of negative space, the lighting is currently just a spotlight and a skylight and has really been adjusted yet and everything is very WiP but I'm trying to create trees/foliage to a good standard as I realise these are going to be one of the main assets in the scene.

I've never created anything like this before so it's been a bit of an experiment and I've managed to make the following using 3DS Max;

5384487120_01ed9efd4c_b.jpg

5383883129_0a1def48ac_b.jpg

5383884585_a39598418d_b.jpg

5384488792_c0aef46267_b.jpg

I've also used SpeedTree to tree and create some trees that I can make the forest appear more dense with, but I'm at the point where the SpeedTree's look much better than my own (even though they are all running through the same type of material trees- at the minute just pure diffuse with no spec/normals).