Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Grad Project - Remnant

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
matthewjvia polycounter lvl 13
I'm a grad student working on my research project. It is focused on the idea of the environment as a character. I have been working on the project for a while now and I decided to start posting my work. I would really appreciate some feedback.

IngenusAulaConcept.jpg
This is the original concept for the environment produced by Cobalt Cox. The design was later simplified in order to meet my deadline.

humility1.jpg
humility2.jpg
humility3.jpg
This is one of my major assets. It is a statue representing their god of humility. I had originally hoped to produce all seven of these gods, but due to time constraints I had to make the tough choice to remove the others and focus on this one.

knight_1.jpg
knight_wire1.jpg
This is a knight statue that will appear in various areas of the environment and attempt to block the player's escape.

weapons1.jpg
weapons_wire.jpg
These are the various weapons used by the knight statues.

colossus1.jpg
colossus2.jpg
This is the colossus statue, which sits at the far end of the cave. As the player nears the exit is pounds on the cave walls giving the player a sense of danger as the cave starts collapsing around them.

Replies

• jackalope
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jackalope polycounter lvl 11
    Bumping this up so my friend can get some good advice.
    Also, welcome to polycount!
  • jeroenbackx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jeroenbackx polycounter lvl 13
    The statues look really cool, the wings on that god statue look especially impressive. The texturing overall is pretty nice although i'd definitely add some nice spec-maps to the shaders. Try to really get the 'gold' materials to stand out from the stone.
    Also, multiply an ambient occlusion layer with the diffuse textures you already have. Right now, they look a little flat.