Home Technical Talk

Hand painting grass and dirt

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
MainManiac polycounter lvl 11
I've had some experience with stone and wood, but im still stumped on how you deal with grass or dirt..

Heres two textures from WoW
elwynngrassbase.jpg

elwynndirtmud03.jpg

Grass: Im wondering how you would go about making a grass texture like this, or just some techniques in general. I really don't know where to start...

Dirt: Im even more lost with dirt. It really doesn't make any sense to me, and why do all of WoW's dirt textures look like they were painted over real pictures of dirt.

Could someone please post up some techniques for grass and dirt please?

Thanks

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    try making pictures of single blades of grass and then creating a custom brush in photoshop that scatters the grass blades around.

Same thing should work for dirt but with some rocks instead.
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sounds like a pretty neat idea. I have no experience with custom brushes like that, could you give me a brief run down?

I dont really see how that could work for the dirt. I get the whole rock part, but just the plain 'dirt' under the rocks im not sure how to make.
  • Arcanox
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks guys

Any more input on the dirt though? Im stumped on just getting a 'dirt' look as a base.
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Im just... so lost... I dont see how one could get a result like the grass texture i posted from wow.

Im really in need of major guidance, and its crazy how little tutorials there are for things like this.

craptex.jpg

My ridiculously horrible attempt
  • ayoub44
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ayoub44 polycounter lvl 10
    hi ,

about creating grass .. you can check out a thechnique adam share on his wip environment here