Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Sarah Dahlinger, (looking for work and critique)

HI Everyone,

This is my first time posting. I just found this site today. I was recently laid off from my previous employer of 5 years. However, I've been trying to build my 3D skills for a few years now.

Critique and job opportunities welcome.

I'm from Ma and would only like to relocate as a last resort (just bought a condo a year ago)

I'm also open to offsite/freelance opportunities.

However, if you don't know of any jobs and have some critique, please don't be shy.

http://www.sarahdahlinger.com/

Thanks all,

Sarah

Replies

• Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    Hello Sarah,
    I think perhaps the thumbnails are a bit small overall. Also, the paper mouse overlay effect is pretty cheesy so you should probably do away with it and utilize an edge highlight or different mouseover thats a bit more effective in popping out the thumbs.

You have some interesting characters although I think the mesh flow could be optimized in some areas. As far as the Bridge is concerned though I think perhaps it would better suited to utilize tileable textures to allow tighter detail but from an rts perspective its not too noticeable.

I noticed the demo reel music, sounds like Vanessa Mae or Bond. :)
  • tda
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tda polycounter lvl 16
    The creatures all seem pretty cool, but the human characters have way too much desaturated grey in the texture maps. Low saturation and grey tones in skin makes things look really dead. If you remove that, they'll really look a lot better.
  • Jet_Pilot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jet_Pilot polycounter lvl 10