Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Base's 3D Character Art: 2D animation to 3D

Base
polygon
Offline / Send Message
Base polygon
So with the start of a new year and a new quarter of school, I decided I wanted to devote more of my time to working on developing 3D characters for my reel and portfolio. I've been doing character modeling/texturing/rigging for a couple years now, but I feel that I'm at the point now that I can start showing my things and be able to appreciate any feedback I get.

So, for my first character, I'm going to do a design I've been toying with for the past couple of days. Since I'm a 2D animator at heart, whenever I get a new character design, I always spend a few days drawing them and trying to capture the feel of the character. This usually involves a lot of design changes, but this design I liked almost the moment I put it down on paper.

Here's the sketches I've been playing around with (all very loose and messy):
OkiKuma8.jpg
OkiKuma7.jpg
OkiKuma6.jpg
OkiKuma5.jpg
OkiKuma4.jpg
OkiKuma3.jpg
OkiKuma2.jpg
Okikuma1.jpg

At some point, I decided I wanted his ponytails to 'burst into flames' whenever he's in 'Berserk Mode'. I started thinking about how I wanted to animate that, and I realized the kind of stylistic approach that would work best would be a sort of Okami-brush animated texture on polystrips. I've never had much experience doing that, but I think it'd be great practice in translating something that would normally be animated in 2D, into a 3D representation.

I really liked the action poses I got with him, particularly how uncontrolled his movements feel. One of my focuses is going to be in figuring out how I want to model and rig him to make those motions feasible.

You can tell I'm really iffy with his facial anatomy... I'll probably do a lot more head sketches for him and taking a few shots at head sculptures before deciding what I want. Hopefully the poor faces don't detract from the rest of the poses too much.