Home General Discussion

General dSLR advice

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    Hey Disanski, in what way do you feel the 5D is making a difference compared to the previous D90 ?
  • disanski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    disanski polycounter lvl 14
    Image quality, AF, viewfinder better noise on iso up to 1600 and well it is a full frame camera body :)
    I am not very technical so i dont know the details but let me give you an example :) When i was shooting with the d90 and 50mm 1.8 it was impossible to get a decent shot at f/1.8 - 2.8 now with my 5d i still have some shots at f1.8 that are not on the money but they are only 10-20% .. and if this does not mean anything because it could be just me learning what i am doing wrong my friend has a 450d with 50 mm 1.4 canon lens and with those lens at 1.8 for her is still very hard to get sharp shots and to get the focus working correct. If I move the lens to the 5d the focus works much better.
    But dont take my word for it because i am still very new to this and up til 1 year ago i was only taking pictures for fun and not really trying to understand what was i doing and I am still very new at this.
    For me it comes down to this - are you happy with it or not :)
    Was i happy with my d90 -- no :) Am i happy with a 6 years old 5d .. oo yeaa :)
    Sorry if i could not give you more detailed answer :)
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I shoot wide open with my Canon 50mm 1.8 and and Sigma 30mm 1.4 pretty often, I think its generally a matter of learning how to deal with the very narrow DOF than anything to do with AF accuracy, however, if you get more "keepers" on your 5D maybe it would make sense.