Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Remnant

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
jackalope polycounter lvl 11
Remnant is a school project i was a part of over the summer. It was not finished (at least not before i graduated) so i thought i would take what i made put it in a little scene, and polish it up to a professorial level for my portfolio.

here is my current blockout
blockout1.jpg

I for the walls i decided to practice some sculpting, so I have started a sculpted brick in mudbox.
stone1.jpg

I know its not much right now, so i dont really expect any feedback. Just wanted a place to motivate me to progress on this, and to eventually get some critiques.

Replies

• jackalope
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    worked on sculpting some damaged props.
    damgagedprops.jpg
  • DrunkShaman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DrunkShaman polycounter lvl 14
    clearly the stuff that you've posted so far is by far improving towards the right direction. Though you could've decreased the poly rate in the first one.

The Brick and Pillar can use a bit of a noise if Mudbox has it.

Over all, nice work! :)
  • jackalope
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thank you. what do you mean by poly rate though?
    and im assuming by noise you mean small texture detail? which i will definitely do that.

thanks again.
  • sneakymcfox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Your damage looks very soft and almost clay like, stone doesn't really chip that way, if you added in some shaper detail this stuff would look great.
  • jackalope
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ive been thinking about that, i was looking at some stone that was slowly worn away over a long period of time.
    But I think your right, I think i would really benefit by adding some sharpness.
  • jackalope
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    worked on one of the pillars some more. Sharpened up some details.

damagedpillar.jpg
  • jackalope
    Options