Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Stielhandgranate 24 WIP

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
maxivz interpolator
Hello guys, i have been trying to learn normal map baking for ages, and now had some time to finally learn about it.
So, heres my first "complex" bake :poly121:, i decided to make a german world war granade as it was a cool model and still easy to uvmap, i will start working on the texture and i would be really gratefull if you guys could give me critics and tips of how to make the texture look better, as i am really new to texturing as well
So, here it is the high poly:
stielhandgranate.jpg
And heres the bake and the model with the wires, its 980polys:
stielhandgranatenormalm.jpg
Tell me guys what you think so far :) and if you want to take a look at my portfolio, it can be found here: http://maxivz.carbonmade.com/ :)

Replies

• Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    Looks good, just 2 small remarks:
    -that small screw thingy seems redundant, could be just a normalmap
    -the large cylinder could use some extra sides, like so:
    stielesimple.png
  • maxivz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maxivz interpolator
    Thanks for the tips Snader :), i decided to make the handle a cilinder or 18 sides becouse i had seted myself a limit of 1000 polys for the low poly
    Btw, what are you reffering to with "small screw thingy"? i dont seem to understand what part are you refering to :P
  • maxivz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maxivz interpolator
    @ Super Happy Cow, i see what you mean, i noticed it when i applyied the smothing groups to the low poly, the normal map make it look better tought, even when it doesnt add too much detail
  • XenoKratios
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    XenoKratios polycounter lvl 12