Home Technical Talk

Painter 2011: Copy Merged Color Degedation

Newbie here, I've found that when I use copy merged + paste in new image to convert a RIFF into a filetype I can post, the copy's colors are not quite the same.

Here's an example from my current project, a screencap of the RIFF on the left, and the copy on the right:
acacap.pngacacopy.png
I can't just screencap the whole image for posing 'cause its too big for my monitor to display all at once. I wonder if using unusual layer types like Gel and Luminosity is causing the problem. I've also tried playing around with levels and adjusting brightness/saturation/ect to restore the colors with no luck.

Has anyone else had this problem and found away around it?

Replies

• AlecMoody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AlecMoody ngon master
    I'm guessing that the riff is in a different color space than the document you are pasting into which would create a color shift.

I don't know how painter works but one solution would be to save the file as something you could use instead of copy and paste. When you open it in photoshop it should respect the color space its in- you should be converting it into srgb space at some point before you are finished with (convert not assign). Alternatively if you cannot save out a raster image directly then copy and paste and assign the profile for the space that painter is in, then convert the document to srgb. This will shift the colors to match and adjust the values so it looks the same in srgb space.

It is also possible that painter isn't color managed. If that's the case then what you are seeing in painter is your monitors color space which will differ slightly from srgb space. You can fix this by assigning your monitors color profile to the document and then converting to srgb.

EDIT:
    Are you trying to paste into painter or photoshop?
  • Pencil-of-Sketching