Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

AT-ST W.I.P

Hello. I'm new here :). Tho I have been browsing the forums for some time I have decided today to create an account and contribute. I am a game art student and I have been using( well learning mainly) 3Ds Max for a year now.
Any crit on my work would be very much apprecieated.

Recently I've been working on a AT-ST model. I have set myself a tri limit of 10.000. I have finished the low poly model and wen't straight into High poly modeling. I wanted to bake all the detail from the High poly to the Low poly model. I still don't know if it was the best idea becouse it is taking me some time with this side project. Especialy creating all the high poly details.

Here is a Max Render of the low poly model. At the moment it is exactly 9999 Tris :)
sheet1p.jpg

Since I am 3/4 through the high poly modeling stage I made a test bake from the high poly leg. Wanted to check how will normals and AO bake onto the low poly. This is the High poly leg model.
leghp5.jpg
...... and here is the AO sample
aomap.jpg

I used the standard settings to bake it down. I have baked this map in 4096x4096 resolution so I would get a better result and had less to fix both on normal and ambient. Then I would resize it down to 2048. Normal map comes out very simmilar to this one. I used a default scanline renderer with lightrracer on to make this AO.

Is there any possible way that I could boost up the results in both Normal map and this AO map I have showed ?

Crits and comments very much apprecieated

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Model looks pretty good! To improve the quality of the AO bake (get rid of the jaggy edges) you can turn on Supersampling in the Render options (accessible through the Render To Texture window).
  • Bart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message