Home General Discussion

Are you self taught?

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
roosterMAP polycounter lvl 12
I was curous to know what persentage of people are self taught. By self taught, I mean you learned by yourself, outside of a univeristy, highschool, or any class like setting.

Replies

• Del
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Del polycounter lvl 9
    roosterMAP wrote: »
    I was curous to know what persentage of people are self taught. By self taught, I mean you learned by yourself, outside of a univeristy, highschool, or any class like setting.

~ People who are in the industry and went to university are still basically self taught anyway.
  • roosterMAP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, as long as they didnt have university courses that taught them 3D and stuff.
  • Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
    yeah, I would say most everyone is self taught I got a BFA in Computer Animation and I consider myself self taught.
  • ErichWK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ErichWK polycounter lvl 12
    roosterMAP wrote: »

I did go to a University..but honestly..all it ever taught me was what programs to use and what a helpful websites to look at, and gave us assignments. Mostly everything is from here, the wiki, or Youtube videos.
  • Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    I've taken a couple of Max classes, but the instructor was an absolute gobshite and had no idea what the hell he was doing. He also found a way to drone on and on and onnnnnnn for five hours straight while people just completely ignored anything he said so that they could actually learn how to use the program.
  • Stinger88
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stinger88 polycounter
    I consider myself "mostly" self taught.