Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Animation Lip Sync-Need Critiques

I'm new to Polycount. I know some people here on Polycount in game art. I'm an animator looking for a place to get some critiques on my work. If anyone knows of a good place to get animation feedback or has any suggestions for my work, your help is greatly appreciated :-)

Here is a work in progress lip sync animation. I'm still working on blocking out everything so its expectedly going to be a bit choppy. Anyways, all feed back is greatly appreciated.

http://vimeo.com/17461960

Replies

• Mezz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mezz polycounter lvl 8
    Welcome to Polycount!! :)

The blocking is looking good so far.
    My only thoughts at this early stage is that you'll probably be biting off more than you can chew--23 seconds is quite the long amount of time for a lip sync. You'd probably be able to focus and do much more and better with something under 10 seconds. If you're set for the challenge, though, than power to you!! :)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking good, keep it up.

As for the length it really depends on perspective. In feature films typically people do about 5-10 seconds per week working 40hrs, sometimes less sometimes more. For this I would say a pro could do 10 seconds per week on this level of action someone a little less experienced 5 and someone just starting out should shoot for 1.

In my case I do about a min a week of restrained single character animation for games. While its higher quality than most games it falls short of film quality. Most of the animation is conversational they're talking to the player/camera and you typically see them from the waist up, its a lot of facial animation and arm gestures. 8-20min per character 4-16 characters per year 10-20 cinematics.

When we get into full body cinematic work which is roughly like this with a little more running and fighting, that drops down to about 10 seconds per week.