Home Technical Talk

Hard surface robot character detailing questions

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Cortes polycounter lvl 6
Sup fellas. My questions pertain more to general workflow as I'm still a beginner but I'm interested in your opinions.

I have a base robot character created in Max, as you can see here.

viewport1.jpg

He's made up of many separate objects, so when I unwrapped him I could have the maximum focus on detail and uv space, unwrapping each part individually.

My question concerns how to go about detailing the mesh optimally.

Let's take a look at one piece of the model, the body, as you can see here:

viewport2.jpg
Pretty extreme mesh, right? :poly124:

I want to take this mesh and add all sorts of "greebled" hard surface details. Grooves, bolts, plates, that sort of thing. I want to add this sort of detail to most of the other parts of the model like the helmet and the arms.

From what I've learned so far, there are a multitude of ways I could go about it.

1. I could bake a normal map from a high poly also made in Max (the base mesh already has a turbosmooth so it isn't really "low poly" anymore, but for our purposes it is)
2. I could take this mesh into Zbrush and make a high poly that way and then bake normals.

Since I want to learn Zbrush, I am considering the second option more. Trying to add all those chamfered and beveled lines in max onto such a small mesh may give me more trouble than its worth (although I could use floaters) however I keep hearing that hard surface modeling in Zbrush is also pretty hard for a beginner like me (but 3.5 r3 has all these new tasty brushes for that exact purpose though...).

This character isn't for a game, just for animation.

So basically, what would you do in this situation?

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator