Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Colt Whitneyville Hartford Dragoon - Crits/Advice Plz

Bon
Hi everyone. To be frank I am new to forums and usually lurk in the background but I thought I would join as recommended by 'Cap'. My apologies in advance for any noob behaviour.

I have just returned from a long stint of travelling and feel I have lost alot of confidence with my 3D after no access to a computer. I set a project on my return inspired from the book 'Blood Meridian' by Cormac McCarthy (author of 'No Country for Old Men').

The gang used the pistol below, a Colt Whitneyville - Hartford Dragoon. After searching for ref material I stumbled upon Cap's model and gave him an email looking for advice which led me to here.

Caps' Dragoon:
http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73019

My main reference picture:
rev11v.jpg

With my version I would like to include the elaborate engravings and the crafted handle.

Unfortunately I am still an amateur to texturing, this is about where I get fuzzy on what the best workflow is so any pointers would be appreciated, my plan is model the grip engraving in ZBrush (test below had to scrap it as I redid my uv's) and use xnormal/nDo to make the motif??

The model has been made in 3DS Max and is 8674 tris. More than I would like but I am eager to move on. The pieces are seperate so it can be animated or dismantled.

Cheers!

polycount03111.jpg
polycount03112.jpg
polycount03114.jpg
polycount03115.jpg
polycount03116.jpg
dragoonuvfinal2.jpg
gripze.jpg

Replies

• Bon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bon
    I've scoured the forums and the net to find out if it is possible to flip/mirror faces and overlap them in order to save on UVW space and time texturing.

For example I would like to texture the hammer but to save time I would flip/mirror one side horizontally on the map and lay it directly on top to occupy exactly the same space as the uv below.