Home Technical Talk

Strange Smoothing/Normal Errors

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Xelan101 polycounter lvl 10
I've been working in Max 2011 and for some reason at random when I remove a face or attach pieces of editable poly together (I think there may be other triggers but those ones stand out in my mind) I'll get really weird smoothing/normal errors sometimes entire faces black out or sometimes only portions of them do.

The only way my roommate and I can find that fixes the problem is to remove the face entirely and then cap it off, this is fine when it happens to one or two faces but when it happens to half the object it becomes quite a hassle as you can imagine.

Now I'm definitely not a novice when it come to 3DS Max but I'm by no means an expert yet. I'm wondering if other people have had this issue with 2011 and more importantly if they have any tips for preventing and or fixing this issue that I may have overlooked (which is very very possible) that could fix the issue.

Replies

• Treacharous
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If the face goes black than that could be a normals issue, you can try putting a normals modifier on it and flip faces.
  • Xelan101
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the tip. Unfortunately I tried it out and the black faces were unaffected by the flip >.<
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    post screenshots.
  • Xelan101
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's what the issue looks like. Sorry I didn't think to post it outright.

The entire model just has the basic grey material.

NormalIssues.jpg
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    flipping those polys with the editable poly's flip command does not change them at all?

In general your normals are pretty nasty on some of those super high-angle 'curved' pieces, but the pure black bits look completely fucked.