Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ancient Modular Wall

keyframe
Offline / Send Message
SnakeDoctor keyframe
Hey I am currently working on a project for my portfolio class. With this project I am trying to keep majority of things modular. I am new to this concept but I feel like I am starting to get the hang of it. I am new to texturing and kind of just went at it. I would like to refine that skill more. Please let me know what you think.

Wall1.jpg?t=1287849004

wall2.jpg?t=1287849031

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks pretty cool.

What's the texture resolution? What maps are you using, diffuse, spec and normal?
    What kind of viewport shader are you using?

The moss or ivy seems to be over ridden by the normal map? Also there are some shadows that don't seem to make sense, I wonder if they're spots on the normal map?
  • Arcanox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So I assume that this is just a low poly block set that has a texture slapped on it? The construction of it seems like it should tile pretty well. Do they snap together at 90 degree angles?

The part that needs the most work is definitely the texture portion of it. The moss you added mostly seems like green slime that's been brushed on the top of the wall. The other thing that needs some work is definitely the entire shading of the bricks.
    When dealing with these types of assets it's always best to spend a little bit of time refining a hand painted element to the texture which basically gives the texture some shading and visual relief from the flat surface it's on.