Home Unreal Engine

UDK mesh importing lightmap issue (help please!)

Hi there,
I'm new to Polycount and I have a question.
I have a mesh that I've been trying to import into UDK but I keep getting the following error message:

wC2OD.jpg

I'm at the point where I'm about to start banging my head against the keyboard. I'm sure I took care not to have any inverted or overlapped faces in my UV map; both on channels 0 and 1 (or 1 and 2 in 3dsmax)

This is the UV map (Channel 1 in 3dsmax. 0 in UDK):

WUoQm.png

And finally the lightmap UVs (channel 2 in 3dsmax, 1 in UDK):

1wHfC.png

This is the mesh in 3dsmax:

QeI9e.jpg

This is a picture of the mesh after I import into UDK:

A8zr2.jpg

Any idea why UDK would give me that error message? I've tried many variations or the lightmap, plus deleting the mesh from the package, re-exporting/importing. I even tried importing it to a whole different package in UDK and I still get the same issue.
Has anyone else had a similar problem? I would appreciate any help.

Thank you.

Replies

• Parkar
    Offline / Send Message
    Parkar polycounter lvl 18
    How did you do the two UV maps? If you added an unwrap uvw map and switch to UVW channel 2 it looks like it is the same as your first uvw channel but it is actually just moving the uvw changes in tha modifier to channel 2. So if you want to set both channels to the same map what you want to do is use two uvw modifiers, one for uvw 1 and one for uvw 2. You can colapse them if you want or keep them around but you need a new modifier for the second uvw channel.

Not sure if that made any sense or if it is even the problem but it looks like you might have just changed UVW 1 and assumed 2 looks the same by changing the uvw channel in your unwrap modifier to 2 and then back to 1 again.