Home Technical Talk

How should I start with this? (3D Modeling)

ogxwjo.jpg

As the thread title says, how should I start with this?

I'm pretty new with 3D modeling and figured this wouldn't be too easy or too hard but I'm having a hard time figuring out how to start. Use a plane, cylinder, square, or?

Replies

• Buzzy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Probably just good old-fashioned box modeling. Make an image plane of this reference photo to build from, make a box and start cutting edges and extruding faces.
  • DOG-GY
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DOG-GY polycounter lvl 12
    Well the main surfaces will be pretty easy. You can start with a box, and begin fitting the vertices to the shape of it. See the "how u model dem shapes" thread if you need help getting the surfaces. You'll probably wind up using subd modeling so you should look up tutorials on the basics of that. There's a good binocular tutorial here
    http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/autodesk-3ds-max/an-introduction-to-subdivision-high-poly-modeling-tools-and-techniques/

I've loved this one in the past.

For the actual business end of the model, I'd recommend getting a lot of references. If you have or could get the real thing, do that. It'll help tremendously. Preferaby find one free if possible.

Good luck!
  • raul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    raul polycounter lvl 11
    There is a button at the very very corner of max, that says "create cool drill from reference" :P

There is a thread that talks about how to model shapes and such.

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56014

The best way to approach it is to use primitives to block out areas of your object. Then go back and start doing passes on those areas with new geometry specifically built for those areas. Things like bolts and nuts should be modeled prior to starting on the whole thing. And reused all around.