Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Janelle Desborough

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Nagoshi polycounter lvl 7
Hello everyone! I'm a student studying Game Art and Design, and after about a year and a half in the world of 3D modeling I'm looking to expand critiques outside of school. :) I'd like to start posting progress on various projects, and would be very grateful for any constructive criticism to help further my skill set. I am very much a novice, so all feedback is welcome!

Currently I'm working on a simple character. Here's the base mesh that I plan to take into ZBrush:

Solid_with_Glasses.jpg?t=1283573519

Wireframe_with_Glasses.jpg?t=1283573538

And this is the quick-and-dirty sketch that I'm using as reference.
Little_Girl_Modelsheet.jpg?t=1283573857

I'm a little iffy on whether it's best for her design to include the glasses slipping off her nose or not. I fear they may make her look older, instead of small and cute. Here's a render of her without them:

Solid_without_Glasses.jpg?t=1283573535

I want to stick to a triangle limit of 3,000. Without the glasses she's at 2,992 now, but if I keep them I'll have to knock it down from 3,232.

Replies

• Nagoshi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I made a few changes to the little girl model, and have a few left to do before I start sculpting, but I also wanted to go back and gather some of my older projects, just to get some sort of timeline of progress going. I'll have more recent things to submit here in a few weeks as well, once this batch of classes ends...we're into final projects right now so time is a little short!

A couple traditional drawings, which were part of the portfolio I submitted to The Art Institute of Pittsburgh when I applied for the Game Art and Design program.

Rihanna_by_nagoshi.jpg?t=1283957099

Stretchy_Stretchy_by_nagoshi.jpg?t=1283957100