Home Technical Talk

A few pointers for a newcomer

hi guys, I just registered on the forum but I've been a long time lurker.
I'm Leo from Switzerland btw ;)

I browsed about the forum trying to find information for someone like me who barely ever touched any 3d application but was not really lucky.
Just so you have a quick feel for my knowledge of the domain the only thing I ever tried doing in 3d was my DJ console furniture I wanted to make, I used Sketchup for that and I failed miserably. Also I'm completely inept at drawing anything that doesn't resemble stick figures and my knowledge in photoshop is not that great either.

I'm basically a programmer (I develop apps during my day job) looking to get a bit of 3d fun but with no experience at all.

Therefore I have a few questions:

• First of all, should I even try? Modelling seems a bit daunting since I have really no knowledge in anything it requires to do correctly but at the same time it looks really fun and interesting.
  • What would be the best 3d app to start with ? Maya? 3DS Max? I have really no clue where to start
  • Any REALLY basic tutorials about to get me started, something someone could take on while having never touched any of these apps.
I hope you guys won't laugh at me! I'd really like to get started.

Replies

• Ark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ark polycounter lvl 11
    First of all, should I even try? Modelling seems a bit daunting since I have really no knowledge in anything it requires to do correctly but at the same time it looks really fun and interesting.

Everyone has to start out somewhere, it may look daunting at first, but so does programming to me. :) Once you get accustomed to basics of 3D, you'll see its really easy to get started and you'll be modeling in notime.
    What would be the best 3d app to start with ? Maya? 3DS Max? I have really no clue where to start