Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Spacechick wip

NBLM
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
NBLM polycounter lvl 13
Hi, i am fairly new to character modelling, so i decided to do this joan of arc tutorial. I know its pretty old but it was a good start and instead of going for the medieval look, i will follow my own ideas and make a futuristic version of joan.

This is the style i want to achieve:
Space_chick018.png

And here is what i have so far:
frontcr.jpg
backqp.jpg

I am working on the boots atm and then i will model the ray gun.
C&C appreciated

Thanks.

--
What i have forgot to say is that it will be a cartoonish character.

Replies

• Der Hollander
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So far, it looks like you've got a decent handle on shape. I would revisit your head proportions right out the gate, as with the head you're looking closer to hitting a bug-eyed green alien gal than your reference picture you've posted.

Without wireframes posted, it's difficult to tell much else, it looks like you might have something funky going on in the armpit that could really play hell with your deformations.

You might also want to check out some of the body proportions. She's got a rather large posterior for someone who looks like they have an extremely low BMI. I know the tutorial has similar proportions, but frankly, it's bordering on anorexic.

Keep chugging away at it. You've got what looks like a really solid form, with some really nice detail in her back, and if you can keep up the subtle detail, you should have a really nice model in the end.
  • NBLM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NBLM polycounter lvl 13
    Thanks Hollander

The head and the body are from that tutorial. The head looks
    indeed a bit weird, but I have no experience in this category so I cannot imagine
    how it will look like in the end. I really don't want a bug eyed alien spacechick,