Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Creature WIP

Hi all,

I'm a 3D student in BC. currently, I'm working on a creature sculpt in Zbrush for my demo reel. It is still in a rough state, still trying to figure how to make everything work together.

The idea started from a concept i had in mind:
LW9qE.jpg
I thought it would be interesting to have a creature that was a warrior and got corrupted by an ancient demon. I try to mix in some nature elements to fuse into his body.

this is what i have so far
bfpKo.jpg
any inputs and crits will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys,

Replies

• BradMyers82
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    Nice start! I think you went a little overboard exaggerating the proportions though. If you look at the concept he has more subtle, more human like proportions than what you currently have. That said, I think the head is too small, the arms too long, waist too narrow, hands too big, shoulders too wide, and lats too small (the muscles under the arms that fill out the back). The stomach area looks pretty weird atm also. You might want to smooth that out and give him a more human like stomach.
    Also, I would suggest you look for some references on human muscle anatomy and animal anatomy and try to really nail that with this. If your not sure how muscles go in a specific area, look up a reference, but never make stuff up. I'm seeing some strange areas around the hamstrings, back, traps, neck, shoulders, hips and inner thighs.
    Again, I think its a great start man, so keep it up!
  • PeterK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PeterK greentooth
    Heya mate, glad you posted your model for review. I like the design, as it reminds me slightly of something you'd see in an FF game. I'd like you to consider a few small items, I posted a model I made a few years back so we can compare some of the anatomy and zbrush workflow.