Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] First vehicle: ZiL-131

After completing the Zone project I'm looking to diversify my portfolio a little in the asset department, so I have started working on a ZIL-131. It's my first FPS-quality vehicle, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I also had a few questions:

1. Is it better to created the low poly first, uvwrap it and then create the high poly and bake it?

2. What might be a good poly budget? I plan on using my base model to create several versions to populate a level.

I'm studying normal map stuff from the Wiki, but any other vehicle tutorials would be great as well.

Here's my main ref:

http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb134/EvilViking13/3D/Zil%20131/zil-131-4.gif

The best picture that I've been able to find of the bottom (it's a scale model):

http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb134/EvilViking13/3D/Zil%20131/IMG_5089.jpg

And here's what little I have so far:

http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb134/EvilViking13/3D/Zil%20131/zil01.jpg

http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/bb134/EvilViking13/3D/Zil%20131/zil02.jpg

Replies

• Alberto Rdrgz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alberto Rdrgz polycounter lvl 9
    gotta get more done for crits man. this tells us nothing.
  • Kitteh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kitteh polycounter lvl 18
    The frame shouldn't come down like that where the wheels are. Those are leaf springs that attach to the frame, like this:

new-right-leaf-spring.jpg
  • 3DLee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Kitteh, I'm digging up for ref for leaf springs now. And yes Alberto, I'm going slow. :)

Over the last week I decided to break this down a bit more. This is my first true high>low poly bake beyond simple props like doors and mattresses, so I decided to start with the tires and get those finished first with a 512x512 separate texture (so they can be used as debris props too).