Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UV Mapping and texturing Attempt...need help and crits

This is my first attempt at UV-Mapping and texturing. I viewed a tutorial from a very helpful member on here and it helped me out alot, and i think i have a better understanding of it now. So since then, i have been trying it out and doing some stuff.

I attemped to UV Map and texture a very simple, 1985 Monte Carlo Hobby Stock dirt car model i made, it's not super detailed or perfect. But it was a challenge. I made maps of the parts and textured it in photoshop. I went with my knowlage from the tutorial and tryed my best.

Please give crits and help me out to make me better, i want to bebale to make realistic textures and improve my mapping skills.. so i can become better.

Here are some renderings of the car and a small scene i did. My first ever textured model and scene...

Thank you all.

-Matt:)

racenightrender1.jpg

montecarloprogressivera.jpg

Yes...I am a Road Runner fan
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

An idea of what hobby Stocks are....

imcahobbystock1.jpg
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Replies

• Drav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Drav polycounter lvl 9
    Think you need to improve the modelling before looking at the texture. Things like vehicles, the shape and flow is a very important part, so a good texture on a poor model will still always look rubbish. Get the model looking good, then texture it imo.

If you just want to learn to texture, then I advise making some kind of box or crate, wall section, medpack, something easy and quick to model. Cars are pretty hard at first, so pick something small and easy to finish so you can concentrate on the texturing.
  • MattStone
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ya, I said above that the model isn't perfect. And unlike a regular 1985 Monte Carlo, the sides and body arn't all smooth and rounded. All it is is cutout sheet metal. But i agree with you that i still need more practice on modeling.