Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Forest Tale scene

Hello Polycount, Noob here looking for help. I'm getting ready to graduate with a bachelor's degree in game design and development. School has been challenging and an exciting experience where I learned much about myself and game design. My problem now is that the curriculum I took was based more on theory and game design as a whole. That itself was great but I need a portfolio right lol. So here's where you guys come in.

The concept I am working on is a fantastical world where scale plays the largest conceptual influence. Eventually this piece will be the focus point of a larger scene. Five gnomes will be riding the rabbit.
The main surfaces are leather, hemp rope much like necklaces most of us wore, twigs, carved wood, pinecone shingle shape, and obsidian.

Right now I am blocking it out in Max I will be bringing it into Z brush as subtools and in parts. For sculpting and texture. The largest ? In the workflow I have is dealing with the canvas differences between the characters and the rabbit and saddles. Critiques, comments, questions are more than welcome.
PCtest2.jpg
PCtest1.jpg
PCtest3.jpg

Replies

• JordanFrayne
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have more of a block of the armor completed. The D-rings are the many method of tightening along with classic belts. Bone will be used for both when it comes to the material.
    PCtest4.jpg
  • Mike Yevin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mike Yevin polycounter lvl 11
    Wow I'm very surprised I am the first one to comment on this piece.

First of all I wish you luck in the final stretch of your degree, I was there earlier this year so I know how it feels. I also understand your dilemma regarding portfolio work, I was the same way at the end of my schooling, and I am paying for it now with the need to have more work under my belt.