Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: GoodAsNew

Hello everyone,

So far i've only been lurking around here. I decided to start from a sketchbook.

Before i graduated from an art school I was doing mostly traditional painting and drawing. After that I began self educating myself in digital world. for digital painting I use Photoshop and 3d work it's Maya and Zbrush mainly.

I will be posting mostly 3D work here, more or less unfinished.

Killer crits are welcome!

Here's the first one. Some sort of mermaid/octopus creature from the sea. Her gear needs lot of detailing.

mermaid03.jpg

Here's a wireframe from her head. Is the topology any good?

mermaid01.jpg

Replies

• GoodAsNew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Some mental ray test using GI, FG, Caustics, portal lights and phys sun/sky.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTGvOEwDqKQ[/ame]
  • GoodAsNew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's some suspicious looking random creature i made today just to test some SSS shader with all kinds of maps. Rendered with mentalray.

I used mesh with around 45k polys for the render + normal map. I couldnt bother remeshing to get lighter base mesh.

blopster01.jpg
  • wake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wake polycounter lvl 17
    I find this latest creature surprisingly disturbing-- a combination of the tumescence, and slightly off skin tone and vaguely phallic look of the appendages. Nice work.

As for your first creature, the head is ok and the body is ok, but together I don't think it works-- you're pairing a relatively believable anatomy with a cartoonish face resembling Stitch (from that disney movie). The dissonance throws me off.
  • GoodAsNew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes, you are right about the cartoonish look and the stitch. But maybe i could tweak it into more realistic and less stitchyness. Not sure what i'll do with it tho.

maybe the head looks too heavy for the torso and the chin needs to be bigger.