Home Unreal Engine

Point light (shader?) issue

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
danshewan polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys,

So assembled some basic elements of my scene in UDK, and thought I'd try using a simple point light (with default parameters) in my scene to get a more accurate idea of the base diffuse textures, and I'm getting a pretty funky result - or at least not what I was expecting.

udklightweird.jpg

Right now, the material consists of just the diffuse and normal maps - is the lack of a specular map causing this? Should I be using a different light for previewing textures? Or is it something else? I'm still very new to the UDK, and as such I'm keen to iron out the (presumably) simple kinks so I can get a better idea of what my textures look like before making any serious adjustments in Photoshop.

Any suggestions?

As always, thanks in advance.

Replies

• danshewan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Right, so it occurred to me that although easy, UDK's lightmapping isn't magic, and as such that would probably be a good place to start dissecting the problem.

I went into the Static Mesh editor, and selected Mesh > Generate Unique UV's. Now, it's entirely feasible that I inadvertently changed the settings of the UV channel dropdown menus, as that's the only way I can think of I somehow ended up with four UV channels on a single mesh?

udklightweird.jpg

So, despite the number of channels weirdness (and the very low lightmap resolution setting, which I upped to 256 for tests with the same result), I tried creating basic lightmap UV's for a similarly simple mesh (resulting in just two UV channels this time, not four), and the lighting still looks funky using a single point light.

So actually generating UV's for the lightmap seems to have been a step in the right direction, but this is how it looks with a point light set to a radius of 512, with a brightness of FIVE:

moweird.jpg