Home Technical Talk

Is anyone up for a scripting challenge?

I have no experience whatsoever with max scripting and try to avoid code as much as possible. However, there is a feature that I'd really love to see in Max, and if I knew how to, I'd code it. But I don't, so hopefully someone here with the skills would see the same benefits in it.

I've mentioned the feature before. In Graphite - Loop Tools - There are Curvature features - Straight and Curve (see Vid at 1:10 onwards)

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZrrzWntz0FA

There isn't a setting to constrain these actions to edge, face etc., like there is in Edit Poly - Constraints. It would be really useful when modeling hard surface objects, especially high poly, to constrain it. I've been modeling HP vehicles and to be able to easily arrange lineflow would be such a time saver and would make things a lot easier.

Can anyone do this?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pictures would really help. Constrain how?

Also would help to name your thread better. Something more like "3ds Max Graphite curvature = constrain?" or something.
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    Not clear, post screens or mockups
  • Playdo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I hope this explains it clearly. I don't know how useful it would be on Curvature but I'd find it very useful on Straighten (both example GIFs are Straighten).

Unconstrained Straighten creates the shortest path between the two end vertices. Constraints - Edge - Straighten would constrain it to the surface's edges.

In the examples, it would be easy to constrain and scale the vertices to straighten them, then rotate if needed. But I've come across a lot of times, where scaling and rotating changes the surface, that this would really be useful. In the same way that Make Planar (X,Y,Z) can restrict to edge, you could do the same with this but not be restricted to X,Y,Z.