Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

how do you model heads?

huw
huw
(Reached a comprimise, got a friend to design characters for free! But I still gotta model them.)

How do you go about modelling people's heads? I'm really stuck. I've been using reference images, and I match it up, but it looks really weird even though it's matched up to the dimensions of the reference, even worse when put in perspective mode. I measure, tweak, remeasure, get it as accurate as possible yet every time the entire thing looks incredibly deformed.

How do you do model heads?

Replies

• Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm not a character artist, and not fantastic at modeling heads either, but I know my skills in head modeling went from 'oh dear' to 'hmmm, that's actually not bad' after I followed this:

http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/max/joanofarc/joanmenu.php

I just went over it like 3 or 4 times, it's kinda tedious after the first time but just getting the workflow down should help get the techniques cemented.

After you've done it once or twice, try it with your own reference images of different heads, either drawn or photo and use the same technique.
  • DinkyDogg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    my mate showed me this video on youtube, which i found very helpful in modelling a head so hope it helps you:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xls25e08sSg[/ame]
  • d1ver
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    d1ver polycounter lvl 14
    Skull in no way defines the final silhouette of the face. It's the muscles and sking that make it look the way it is. Look for another refence.
    Good luck!
  • IEatApples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I found sculpting them helped me a lot. Doing them in Z-Brush instead of Maya so you can quickly do rough heads and make quick adjustments.

I found that playing around with a sculpted head helped too, so making some parts really stretched etc to see how and why they look wrong.