Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio/demo reel, Ivan Mitkowski, 3d modeler

hey folks

here is my site/ demo reel

http://konjosworld.wordpress.com/

I am a 3d modeler looking for work, and critiques! thanks for checking out my work

I have published 2 iphone games

-Ivan Mitkowski

Replies

• ru4it
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ru4it polygon
    where did you get the music?
  • konjo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ru4it- the music is a group called 'advantage' , its a CD my brother gave to me a while ago, they recreate oldschool videogame songs with real instruments- pretty great for demo reels. What did you think of my models? Im about to model a few rock model sets for games to the reel. Also working on armor sets, a ferrari enzo, and many other models
  • haikai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    Some of your turnarounds are a little too fast and dizzying. I think you have a nice selection of props and buildings though.

A lot of the models seem a little too perfectly straight and even. A little adjustment to the overall shapes could help a lot, I think. Some of the designs are a little odd and difficult to understand... maybe making something a little more common would be a good thing.

As for the texturing, it looks like you have a good grasp of tiling and stuff like that, but it might be a better show off your artistic abilities by integrating your textures together more. Right now it looks like you're thinking, "this wall is made of rock so I'll put a rock texture on it, and this door is made out of wood so I'll just tile a wood texture on it." In order to get a bit more believability in your textures you're going to have to think of how to make things work together and feel natural.